Friday, October 12, 2007

Doris Lessing, Nobel Laureate

The Nobel prizes have been awarded by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences each year for over a century. The foundation for the award was established by the last will of Alfred Nobel, whose biography can be found here.

Prizes are awarded annually for advances in medicine, physics, chemistry, literature, peace, and beginning in 1969, economics.

You can add Doris Lessing to the top of the list of Nobel Laureates in Literature.

Lessing was the writer who breathed the first breaths of life into the feminist dialog of the twentieth century, and at 88 has finally received the award for which she has been short-listed for decades.

Read her reaction to the award, which carries a $1.6 million dollar prize along with unfathomable presitge, in this article at the New York Times site.

Dick Mac Recommends:

The Golden Notebook
Doris Lessing

No comments: