Friday, February 02, 2007

Senate Votes To Incresae Minimum Wage -- Well, Chuck Schumer Didn't

Tom Coburn (R-OK), Jim DeMint (R-SC), and Jon Kyl (R-AZ), are the only three Senators to vote against the Minimum Wage Increase that passed on February 1, 2007.

When executive salaries are at a level so vulgar that even George W Bush speaks-out against them, how can these Senators vote against raising the minimum wage for America's poorest workers?

They are Republicans, of course, so they know that all the problems of America are the fault of the poor. Every good Republican must believe that. They are all Republicans, so they know that corporations need to be protected from workers who just want to cut into the profits. And every good Republican knows that profits are what is important to God and Country.

But, even if they really believed those absurdities, how can they sleep at night?

Three Senators James Inhofe (R-OK), Tim Johnson (D-ND), and Chuck Schumer (D-NY), failed to cast a vote. Johnson can be forgiven his dereliction of duty, since he is in the middle of brain surgery. I assume that Inhofe, as a Republican needed to be able to look at himself in the mirror, so he couldn't vote against the first increase to minimum wages in 10 years. Chuck Schumer? Why didn't Chuck Schumer vote to increase the minimum wage? Where is Chuck Schumer?

No comments: